PDA

View Full Version : 1-Str Crossbowman (3.5)

Gandariel
2011-09-07, 11:28 AM
Hi to all. I'm not good at optimisation (actually, i don't own any books, and i only played a couple of PbP games)
but, while creating a charachter for a game, i had this awesome idea:

Race: Jermlairie, a kind of fey which was gently suggested to me. Long story short, it has tiny size, +6 dex and a ton of penalties to other stats (excepted for a +6 Wis, which i don't even need)

(Yeah, maybe it's not such a great choice.. but it gives me Dex, that's enough for me and i don't even know where to look for other races)

the magic of 4d6b3 gave me these scores(after adjustments):
Str 1
Dex 23
Con 11
Int 11
Wis 14
Cha 6

i looked up some things on crossbow, and came up with this:
Barbarian(Whirling Frenzy variant)1/Fighter2/Rogue1 (Actually Rogue X, but the cool point in the build is level 4)

with two flaws, the starting feats are Point Blank Shot, Rapid shot and Rapid reload
I wield a Light Crossbow (weighs 4 pounds for a Medium charachter, divided by 2 for each size smaller is 1 pound, and my light load is at 1,5 pounds)
So at first level i have 3 attacks (Rapid shot and Whirling Frenzy)
at an attack bonus of 1(BAB)+6(dex)+2(size)+1(PoinBlank) - 4(the two extra attacks)
or +6/+6/+6
for 1d4+1 damage

and that's nice.
Now. Two levels of fighter give me three feats (with the 3rd level feat). I pick Precise shot, Weapon focus and Crossbow Sniper (http://dnd.savannahsoft.eu/feat-488-crossbow-sniper.html)

now my attack bonus is 3(bab)+6(dex)+2(size)+1(PoinBlank)+1(WeapFocus)+1M WK -4 (extra attacks) or +10/+10/+10
damage is 1d4+1+3(half dex)

With a level of Rogue, i get a sneak attack dice (very nice since now i can sneak attack from 60 ft away)
At 4th level i also increase my Dex to 24, for a +7 bonus

Attacks are now +11/+11/+11 for 1d4+4+1d6 (average 10) (11 if the crossbow is a +1Crossbow)

If i manage to enchant my weapon with, say, Shock, there's a nice d6 more of damage.