PDA

View Full Version : A DM in distress

Viper700
2011-09-07, 02:37 PM
Okay, first off, i'm new to the whole posting thing so bare with me a bit and forgive my spelling. So I have been playing D&d for about 3 years now started with 2e and then began DMing 3.5e. My gaming group are some of my cloasest freinds but recently I've noticed a problem....

I game with 3 other people and for this post i'll name then PC1, PC2, and PC3.
They are great guys to game with but with vastly different styles of play. and it's getting harder to have balanced games.

PC1: Is a hardcore powergamer/rules lawyer that finds every combination of skills, classes, and race to create perfect killing machines. He lcaims that it's for pure flavor but his favorite character at lvl 5 had an AC in the 60's and was dealing almost 300 points of damage a round.:smallfrown:

PC2: puts alot of effort into his characters making back stories and flavor, then only wants to "punch face" throughout the whole game. For example:

Me: The knight says he wishes for you to accompany him on a journey for wealth and glory, but first you must meet with his king

PC2: Hulk smash knight!

I would also like to point out that his favored class is fighter and at lvl 15 is lucky to have a AC above 14. :smallamused:

And PC3: Similar to PC2 except that he puts a little more effort into roleplaying and tries to play out his charcters but isnt the best charcter builder.

It's also important to note that if PC1 stops playing then so does PC3 (don't ask why because IDK)

So does anyone have any ideas as to how I can help this party be more balanced and let everyone have fun?

Thanx in advance.

Gandariel
2011-09-07, 02:54 PM
not that hard. give pc 2 and 3 better items and advice, ask pc 1 to pick a tier 4-5 class, and advice pc 2 and 3 to pick a tier 1-2-3 class...

Volos
2011-09-07, 02:57 PM
First, you are in the wrong thread. This would probably go under roleplaying general rather than 3.5.