PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a first time DM

Ranger Mattos
2011-09-09, 10:08 PM
I'll be DMing a game for 3-4 friends in a little bit, and it's my first time being a DM besides one-shot dungeon crawls. Is there anything important that I need to know or think about while I'm designing the campaign and adventures? What about for during the game?

Specifically, this is going to be a 4e game, so any advice specific to that edition would be great, too.

Savannah
2011-09-09, 10:38 PM
In no particular order (except for #1 and #2):

1) You will mess up. Guaranteed. Don't sweat it when you do. (And, depending on how you messed up, if you roll with it, your players may not ever notice :smallwink:)

2) Your players will do things you never expected. The best defense against this is not to try to plan for all contingencies (impossible), but to plan in broad strokes and be willing to improvise.

3) Be careful of epic storylines; they have a tendency to turn into railroads. They're certainly doable, but you can't plan them like a book (the PCs will do [x], then [y], and so on -- see point 2). Instead, try figuring out what the villain's plan is, what they need to do to accomplish it, what their personality is (so you know what things they will and won't do), and what will happen if the players don't interfere. Then when the players do interfere, you can have the villain react appropriately to whatever they do, instead of pre-scripted events (that likely will never happen, as the players will have already run off to do something different).

4) If there's any sort of critical information the players need to have, give at least three clues. That way, if (when) the players miss one or even two, they'll still get the information they need.

5) The players are not your enemies, although you may be playing a character who is their enemy. Make sure everyone (including you) is having fun and be willing to change things if someone isn't.