PDA

View Full Version : How to fight a monster, step-by-step?

beckyangelix
2011-11-04, 08:11 AM
I am a complete newbie to D&D, and I've been wading through manuals, youtube videos and so on... I just can't find exactly how to fight a monster, step-by-step. I always get it from the player's view, but what about the DM's view? How do I know what the monster does?

Could anyone supply me with a step-by-step how-to for attacks in D&D 3.5, including damage taken by the monster? From the DM's view?

Thanks!

Krazzman
2011-11-04, 08:25 AM
As DM I look up the special abilities of the monster/reading the "common" tactic and either stick to it or use it slightly different.

Now we start with initiative. Either the player starts or you. Now after a round of combat I keep track of what has been used and how many hp are left/are lost. This repeats.

Hope this helps.

EDIT: You declare what the monster did/does and explain it to your Player. Example Bob the Strong and Furious is Fighting against a Wolf.

Wolfie begins due to initiative and charges at Bob.
You can say things like "You hear a howling near you. As soon as you look at the direction from where it comes you see a Wolf charging at you and try to bite into your leg."
If he hits, he makes an automatic trip attempt, else it's bobs turn and now bob strikes Wolfie with his sword. If the Trip attempt was successful Bob would have taken an action to stand up provoking an AoO for Wolfie.

Let's assume it failed and Bob stroke Wolfie. You now write down Current HP or the HP he has lost and explain in what condition Wolfie is now.

supermonkeyjoe
2011-11-04, 08:30 AM
The DM runs monsters exactly like the player plays their character, as for what the monster does, that depends entirely on the DM, think about what the monsters intelligence score is, why they're fighting and so on.

beckyangelix
2011-11-04, 08:31 AM
Could you give me something like:
1. Roll initiative
2. Roll a d20
3. Monster does _______.