PDA

View Full Version : New to the System Begging for help.

sometimescursed
2011-11-06, 03:56 AM
Hey there Playground. As i says above, I am totally new to DnD in general, and am trying to get into 3.5. I know there are a lot of threads about the details bu is there any list of solid things to know?

Basically, good classes, good spells, good feats d good combo's are what i am looking for. I only have the MM, PHB and DMG at the moment, so keeping to that would be great, at least for now.

Thanks!

kardar233
2011-11-06, 04:48 AM
Immutable rules of D&D:

Any full spellcaster is gamebreakingly awesome with just a few good spell choices.
Melee characters are tougher to build. The biggest issue with melee is mobility, as you can't get your best damage if you're spending actions moving.
Anything is better with a Cleric 1 dip.
LA is usually not worth it.
Full spellcasters can be better at doing damage than anyone else, but why go to so much trouble if you can win the game with Colour Spray?
Full spellcasters (particularly the Cleric and Druid) are often better at melee than actual melee people.
Healing while in combat is generally useless except for saving a dying character.
Before you decide that a class is really good, look at its synergies. Lots of attacks don't help if you can't make all of them because you have to run to your opponent, for example. This is known as "Monk Syndrome".
Just because it says "Cleric" it doesn't mean it has to be a holy man. Just because it says "Barbarian" you don't have to be a frothing madman.
Play what you want to play; if you need help making it better, come here.
All glory to the Tome of Battle. Worship the Tome of Battle. Maketh the Tome of Battle thine deity.

I think that covers it.

~EDIT~ Oh yes, I forgot. When you ask the collective consciousness of the forum a question, there are two things to remember: