PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Optimizing Cleric

Hawkings
2011-11-08, 06:19 PM
I’m going to play a new game on Friday where I was going to play a malconvoker but after reading about how great an optimized cleric can be on the resent thread “Punish the DM (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=221091)” I thought it’d be much better to try one, the only problem is I’ve never played a cleric and I’m not good at optimizing; Does anyone know a particularly good build?

About the game, both my friend and I want to try clerics of Olidammara because we think it’ll be funny to have clerics acting sneaky to the point of being con artists in order to appease our god, he had thought of a paladin of freedom but I said a cleric’s probably got more moral wiggle room if we’re going to be sneaky, no pesky codes beyond the deity’s and all that.
We’ll be level 5, there’s going to be a rogue, a ninja, a druid and two clerics.
The world will involve a lot of forests and jungles, but we’ll probably end up staying near cities. The DM also loves to throw around a lot of undead so the cleric idea seems great.

If possible we’d need a build for the tank cleric my friend will play, and one for me that’d be a more support type, maybe an archer.
I’m also wondering if having one positive and one negative energy cleric would be beneficial since we’d have more variety in spontaneous casting and turn/rebukes.
In the last game I had with this DM the group wasn’t optimized and mostly used a single class, he had no problem walking over us and pulling us by the ear, I really want to be able to do whatever I want to and be strong enough for once instead of having to run from a handful of bandits, or cower before a couple shades.

Many thanks in advance!

Gavinfoxx
2011-11-08, 06:22 PM
http://brilliantgameologists.com/boards/index.php?topic=420.0

http://brilliantgameologists.com/boards/index.php?topic=10961.0