PDA

View Full Version : Basic DM Tips You Have.

zoobob9
2011-11-15, 09:39 PM
I'm trying my luck at DMing sometime soon. I have a moderate amount of experience as a player, but not as a DM.

So what basic pointers do you guys have?

I know a few principals, no railroading, if you have to fudge a die roll you do, it's ultimately the players' choice what to do, stuff like that.

Monster/encounter creation I'm lost on, towns I'm alright at, but the main thing I have a problem with is trying to make a campaign that'll last at least a level, maybe up to 4, and then when I have more experience a really big one that goes from 5 or 6 to 20.

Any tips?

The first few meets are just "adventure of the week" kind of meets. A couple of players are new to the game, and I'm new to DMing, so the first 3 are to get used to things. We're planning on 4 players and an NPC to help them. It's starting at level 3 because I don't want them to die from an encounter with a Dire Rat.

Novawurmson
2011-11-15, 10:07 PM
This should get you started. (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/oa/20030530b&page=1)

Novawurmson
2011-11-15, 10:11 PM
For a more in-depth answer...

Read the DMG2. It's got great information on running a campaign, dealing with different types of players, designing encounters, etc., etc.

Communication is extremely important.

If there's a rules argument, try to solve it quickly; look up the correct way to do it afterwards, but let your original decision stand.

Make a bunch of NPCs, even if you never use them; the practice making characters will help you get a feel for what your players will be able to do at each level.

Make sure the group is on a relatively equal power level; have the experienced players help the new ones.

Remember that D&D is first and foremost a game - make sure everyone is having fun, including you.

fryplink
2011-11-15, 10:27 PM
While I'm sure I'll get ninja'd multiple times...