PDA

View Full Version : Help with a blackguard!

Laucorn
2011-11-28, 06:05 PM
Hello everyone I am trying to make a blackguard as one of the villians in a campaign I'm working on my problem is I've never built a blackguard before soooo I'm not sure how to go about it.

The Statistic's I'm giving him are listed Below:

Race: Human
Alignment: Lawful Evil
Strength: 18 (4)
Dexterity: 14 (2)
Endurance: 20 (5)
Intelligence: 12 (1)
Wisdom: 16 (3)
Charisma: 18 (4)

The concept behind the character is at one point he was a Paladin who turned evil. His former pupil is going to be the Paladin of our group so there will be some emotional things going on. Now back to the problem at hand I want him to be a CR10 before I give him anything extra and I need help with the design. Also after the initial Design I will be giving him a special item as part of his arsenal as well as a story piece which will raise his CR past 10 I'm sure.

Special Item:

Ring of Eternal Night
Allows the wearer to cast the following spells.
Searing Darkness 10/day
Darkbolt 10/day
Darkness 5/day

Anyway I need help with picking his level dispersion, feats, armor, and weapons. I want him to focus heavily on Melee combat his spellcasting can be a secondary focus if not at all factored in.

hex0
2011-11-28, 06:16 PM
You can turn in your ex-paladin levels for blackguard levels and get nice bonuses, details on the SRD of course.

Laucorn
2011-11-28, 06:19 PM
lol it's an npc I'm working on I need build suggestions like feats, and what not.

Toliudar
2011-11-28, 06:24 PM
Well, on the assumption that you're initially concealing his identity, having him move around in a cloud of darkness at all times seems appropriate. So, giving him some ability to access blindsight would be useful. Ring of the Darkhidden might also be fun.

Perhaps a few levels of swordsage, for the shadow hand maneuvers and stances. There's wisdom synergy there, and takes care of the bizarre hide requirements for the class.

Laucorn