PDA

View Full Version : Seeking info for my 3.5 rework.

zlefin
2011-12-08, 09:35 PM
As many others have before; i'm building a set of my own reworks to 3.5; There's some info i'd like to get from the experts on balance in here.

I'm basing my work off the 3.5 srd; as I think too many splatbooks is part of the problem (and too much to balance).

I have little experience with level 10+ play; so i'm relying more on what i've read about that, and some questions.
Q1: is caster growth actually quadratic? As opposed to being x^3, or some other exponent or more complicated formula.
Q2: How well does fighting type units damage stack up late game?
Q3: Would trying to make all classes tier 2 be too powerful a point to aim for?
what about tier 3?
Q4: How often are you denied your dodge bonuses in high level combat?
Q5: How willing are people to accept fighter types going above the limitations of an elite human? (comparative example: Rurouni Kenshin, very elite, but still close to human limits; and Mihawk from One Piece, able to chop full sized ships in half with one stroke) It always seemed to me that part of the problem was holding fighters to human limits when mages get to do so much more.
Q6: how powerful are the abilities Evasion and Improved Evasion relative to feats? To put another way, how many feats would it take to equal the boost from having Evasion? in either 3.5 or PF (as the 3.5 core feats are mostly terrible).

thank you for your time and answers
Zlefin :)

bobthe6th
2011-12-08, 09:47 PM
Q3: well... giving SoD to every one might be fun... but really, with 2+ you lose all hope at avoiding breakage. you can try to contain it, but it really won't work. T3 is much more fun, as it lets people feel like they matter. heck T4 might be fun for makeing people think...

Hyudra
2011-12-08, 11:09 PM
Q5

Depends on the individual.