PDA

View Full Version : [PF] Tetori monk/Brutal Pugilist barbarian build help

Audious
2011-12-21, 02:44 PM
Looking to start playing in Pathfinder Society and need to make a level 1 character using only the Ultimate books, Inner Sea Guide, Adv. Player's Guide and core.

I want to make a Tetori/Brutal Pugilist, but I'm not sure which class to pick first, and I'm not too good at optimizing (as if the class choice wasn't obvious.)

Where do I go with such a build?

jmelesky
2011-12-21, 06:43 PM
First, welcome to PFS, it's good fun.

Second, if you're not great at optimization, then i'd recommend just choosing one of those two options, rather than trying to multi-class it. Multi-classing in general has been made less appealing in PF than it was in 3.5, so it becomes trickier to decide when and where to do it. When in doubt, single-class.

So, what exactly do you want your character to do?

Audious
2011-12-21, 06:51 PM
So, what exactly do you want your character to do?

Make a wrestler/grappled.

jmelesky
2011-12-21, 07:43 PM
Okay, so let me preface by saying that i haven't played either archetype.

They look like they'd play rather differently. Brutal Pugilist doesn't change much fundamentally about Barbarians -- you'll still have rage and rage powers, you can still wield big weapons if you want to, and so forth. You just get some very handy bonuses to grappling (and other maneuver) situations. Tetori, on the other hand, is very grapple-focused, to the point where even the Monk's hallmark ability (flurry of blows) is traded out for grapple benefits.