PDA

View Full Version : Played for 1 year taking a turn as DM need some tips

kumarpr227
2011-12-27, 02:01 AM
I just joined this forum and some others to gather some more info about Dming.

A short D and D history for me.

I am 32 and playing with mostly Americans, 1 English guy, and 1 Chinese girl who’s English is great but it’s her 2nd language.

I started playing D and D for the first time about March of 2011. Since then we have two on going campaigns with the same core group with two different DM. We do a story arc with one DM, he then is a player for the 2nd campaign for the other DM.

I want to throw my hat in and start up a 3rd campaign. I also figure that I will learn a ton more about the game once I do it.

The first campaign is more railroad the 2nd is more sand box. Asking around players said there was good and bad with both. One way I want to address this is by having 2 characters that I will play in the party. I will use them based on trying to achieve the fine line between sand boxing and railroading.

I have a great story planned. Think The Walking Dead and Fallen Skies set in D and D.

The problem I am faced with is information over load. I first started playing as a Wizard, boy was that a lot of info. I thought about playing a summoner but felt that there was a big chance I could make a loser char so I choose to play a Magus.

I don’t plan on learning everything there is to know about every class and every spell and feat and combinations of all. I trust my players and will tell them where they go this info and then make a decision.

Also with combat. This is the hardest thing for me right now. What level should the npc be, how many of them, etc. I have read other posts and it seems like if you’re unsure take a few npc out. You can always add more during the combat but it’s worse if you take them out to make the combat easier.

I am trying to come up with a way to be able to access different NPC stats from a master list.