PDA

View Full Version : How to be a Verdant Prince

missmvicious
2011-12-31, 05:02 PM
I'm not really good at striking a Devil's deal. But I like the idea behind a Verdant Prince and would love to have my PCs encounter one some day.

I've been watching some tv shows that have Verdant Prince analogs:

Once Upon a Time: Mr. Gold/Rumplestiltskin
Booth at the End: Unnamed guy who makes the deals.

And I'm starting to understand the character type better, but I still have no idea what kind of deal I could strike that would be simple and innocuous (appearing) enough to tempt the PCs but still vile enough to make them have a crises of conscience part way through the deal.

I can't just say, "I'll give you what you want, but you have to kick 10 puppies into traffic while stealing candy from a baby."

I want something good; and subtly evil characters isn't really my forte. Has the Playground ever used a Verdant Prince in a campaign? What deal did you strike that produced an interesting plot point?

Please assume that I may steal the good ideas and use them in my campaign, or use a similar variant to it.

agahii
2012-01-01, 02:11 AM
How powerful of a deal maker are we talking? In my campaign world there is a literal devil that will meet you at a particular crossroad that makes deals. Usually it is something that will utterly screw the PC at some point, though there is room for outsmarting, and/or simply powering through the problem. I make it purposely heinous to dissuade doing it.

Deals have included: A good aligned PC(who thought he was is clever) gets specific magic item, owes devil one person killed of Devil's choice at a later date. (ended up being an important contact for the PCs)

PC asks for information, Devil asks for any one good aligned soul(better in game terms used) given to him in a dagger the devil supplied.(this is typicly so the devil gets the PCs soul upon death from such an evil act)