PDA

View Full Version : Slowly going deaf...

BillyBobJoe
2012-01-03, 11:43 AM
So as I woke up this morning, I found a familiar feeling in my left ear. See, when I was young, something had happened to my right ear, leaving me a8out 2/3rds deaf. I woke up this morning, to find my left ear exactly the same. So I'm panicking right now, considering that I'm a musician. My entire life revolves around music, yet I'm slowly getting more deaf. I have attention pro8lems already! So I'm wondering if any8ody has advice for what to do... :smalleek:

Giggling Ghast
2012-01-03, 11:45 AM
Wait a day and see what happens. If it persists, go see a doctor.

Arminius
2012-01-03, 11:45 AM
This sounds disturbing, I would recommend seeing a doctor. Preferably one who specializes in hearing.

BillyBobJoe
2012-01-03, 11:51 AM
I do have an appointment set up... 8ut things aren't helped 8y the fact that I'm already really sick... And my dad had this same pro8lem, so I think it may 8e genetic...

Bastian Weaver
2012-01-03, 11:54 AM
Go see a doctor, and don't panic. Beethoven had the same problem, and look at what he'd done - and medicine has evolved greatly since his time.

dehro
2012-01-03, 02:00 PM
yeah..I was gonna say Beethoven too..
then again..
I've been plagued with recurring ear infections as a child, which has left considerable scars on the tissue/membrane of my right eardrum..apparently I even flew, as a baby, with a looming ear infection, which is something that can bring terminal damage to one's hearing (and not just to that)
then of course there was that time that I was stung by a wasp on the inside of my ear, leaving it a little swollen.. which to this day means that I can't use earplugs or earbuds without at some early stage losing the right one..

in other words, I'm partially deaf on my right side..so I can sympatize..