PDA

View Full Version : Brand New To 4e, Need DM'ing Help

Dralnu
2012-02-02, 02:40 AM
I'm going to be DM'ing a 4e session on February 8th. From what I understand, almost all the players will be new to the system. They have PHBs and no other books. As for me, I have extensive knowledge of 3.5 but know almost nothing about 4e. No 4e books at all.

So my question to you guys is: what should I get in order to run a good introductory campaign?

Giggling Ghast
2012-02-02, 03:10 AM
The Quickstart Rules (http://www.wizards.com/DnD/TryDnD.aspx) might help.

Emongnome777
2012-02-02, 07:45 AM
The PHB1 would be good. If you need an adventure, WotC's site has Keep on the Shadowfell for free. This should be everything you need, but it'll take time to "forget" some 3.5 stuff and learn 4.0. For instance, provoking an opportunity attack can ONLY happen if you move out of a threatened square or use a ranged / area power while threatened. No more provoking when standing. Also resist the urge to houserule 3.5 stuff back into 4E. Play it as-is for a while first.

Gillric
2012-02-02, 09:21 AM
If you are willing to run a pre-made, there are a few good low level modules out there. You could also get your hands on a season of encounters which runs from level 1 to 3.

As for the modules:
Keep on the Shadowfell isnt attrocious and is level 1 to 3
There is a good level 1 module but I can't think of the name right now.

Sipex
2012-02-02, 11:38 AM
Yeah, download Keep on The Shadowfell (free legally) if you want to do it with as little monetary investment as possible.

If you want to do your own campaign I suggest getting the core books at the very least (PHB1, DMG and Monster Manual 1).