PDA

View Full Version : [PF] Explaining the game? One-shot advice needed

Krazzman
2012-02-05, 03:13 PM
Hello again Playground,

we still haven't started the campaign our DM said he would run for us (my GF and me) and 2 new players found via internet.

The problem I have is, we are going to meet them next saturday/sunday. But our DM doesn't know if he can attend and both players are not familiar with PF. They played 3.5 a lot but wanted to test it before saying if they will play with us or not.

Now I have said, I would DM a testplay-One-shot for them and my GF, if our normal DM can't attend. The problem with this is...I'm a newbie DM (dmed a eberron campaign that was not that serious and some one-shots that were...meh).

I would like you to give me some advice on "free" modules I could run/prepare or some general advice on what I have them do if I want to show them the differences to 3.5 without going through a trainings-course adventure...

Back to my problem with DMing is giving the PC's motivation to do what they are tasked (giving Plothooks) and introduction... so far I would make it easy for me and let the PC's be in an adventure guild.

Yeah, that's it, do you have any advice/recommendation/ideas for me?
I would be delighted.

Crossblade
2012-02-05, 11:27 PM
Typically for one shots, isn't "because it's there" enough motivation?
Make / find a dungeon map and throw in some skill checks and monsters that use Combat Maneuvers and you should be fine.

Arutema
2012-02-06, 12:00 AM
"We Be Goblins" is an excellent free one shot that typically takes 3-4 hours to run. It has a good mix of combat and skill challenges. It gives you everything you need to know about Pathfinder goblins in order to run the mod. My only gripe with it is that it includes an alchemist pre-gen, but does not include the rules for bombs, which are in the Advanced Player's Guide. If you've only got 3 players, drop the alchemist form the party.

Krazzman
2012-02-06, 02:27 AM
Thanks so far,