PDA

View Full Version : Planning a modern UK Call of Cthulhu Campaign (Delta Green Countdown)

shockeroo
2012-02-06, 05:27 PM
Hello all!

I'm wondering if anyone knows of any good resources for, or has experience with a UK-based modern CoC campaign; I'm planning on using the world in Delta Green: Countdown supplement in which nasty aliens have subverted the branch of MI5 (sort-of) that deals with paranormal investigation (PISCES) as well as much of the UK government. Frankly I'd love some pre-written adventures as I don't have a lot of time to write at the moment.

My plan is to start the characters in MI5 and have them transferred to PISCES after a paranormal encounter. The party includes two ex-military, a computer & cryptography expert, a psychiatrist and an occult/history scholar. I'm new to CoC and I'm wondering:

1) What are realistic goals for the players (short/mid term)? Overthrowing the conspiracy would be a colossal undertaking; even discovering it and surviving would be huge.

2) What's a good Mythos encounter for new players? I'd like to give them a challenging monster which they can defeat, only to discover a bigger problem which is much, much worse.

3) What's a good level of life and/or sanity endangering problems? How harsh should I be when the players inevitably do something none-too bright. My players have mostly only D&D experience; they accept the 'you will probably go mad and/or die' concept of Cthulhu but will probably still sulk when killed'.

Thanks for any advice!

some guy
2012-02-06, 07:28 PM
Resources;
-I thought that Cthulhu Brittanica had modern day scenario's, but after giving it a look it seems it has 1 modern day and 1 near future scenario.