PDA

View Full Version : OOTS Three-Quarters Of A Million bucks- Why????

Wolfs Heart
2012-02-18, 12:52 AM
I don't mean to be a jerk, but I just got to ask … Why in the world are you guys funding this project???

… and why are you still funding it?

I mean, I wish the guy all the best, and I know my comment is being fueled by jealousy, but seriously ... how does a stick figure comic even get $50,000, let alone ¾ of million dollars.

I’m an artist, I’m an animator and I feel like I’ve put a huge amount of time and effort into learning how to create my work (and I feel that I'm good at it) … but I'm sitting here watching a guy drawing stick figures, stomp my kickstarter effort into the ground!

I just don’t get it?

Chess Tyrant
2012-02-18, 12:57 AM
A few reasons:

1) OOTS isn't just crappy stick figure art - the excellent storytelling and hilarious jokes make it one of the most successful webcomics in existence. (Plus, though it is stick figure art, it's the best stick figure art on the internet.

2) All the books were originally given small print runs, and anyone who found the comic after they were printed probably hasn't had a chance to buy them. This means that there's an abnormally high demand for the books and other merchandise - Rich will never be able to run a fundraiser like this again. (And this comic has been accumulating fans for something like 10 years, a lot of whom are taking the opportunity to pledge for bonus rewards and PDFs even if they already have the books.)

sparkyinbozo
2012-02-18, 12:58 AM
5 words: dedicated fan base, great swag.

I don't know what the forum rules here are, but usually any post with "I don't mean to be a jerk, but" is usually locked because people try to justify being said jerk.

Toper
2012-02-18, 01:12 AM