PDA

View Full Version : Rage Quit as DM

Brainstomper
2012-02-26, 11:16 PM
I have been playing D&D in some form or another for 25 years. I have been the primary DM for my current group for about 10 years. I have seen my fair share of odd ball characters but have notice in the last 2 campaigns that my 4 players have settled into 4 distinct roles. No matter what class they play there is always the money hungry mercenary with less compunction toward killing than Dexter, (Including his NG cleric of Baldur). Secondly, there is the guy guy that always holds back and always talks about retiring,invests minimal effort into taking risks or in game authority. Next we have the "Don't push the red button guy". No matter what dangers are outlined he simply has to push the limit and unleash random chaos. The last player is more flexible and stretches his role. He has been playing the heavy hitter the last few campaigns and asked if he could go back to the odd ball wizard. So while starting the campaign I told the guys the general background and told them it was going to be more of an "old school" dungeon crawl to start. Be original play some thing new. I got a mercenary dwarf fighter that only wanted to kill things, whom I forced an alignment change from N to NE for surprise attacking a traveler and his wife because they could blame it on the local bandits. Mind you he is tasked with elimination of said bandits. The Gnome thief went along pushed the buttons etc. Went from CG to CN. The gnome cleric stayed at the Inn. Didnt take a single point of damage, disengaged form other combats and was actively looking to "return home." The last guy couldn't make it. The entire big and daring change? They played a dwarf, halfling and a gnome instead of humans. After 3 hours I wrapped it up and sent the players home. This morning I called them and explained that I wasn't going to run anymore and explained my various individual reasons why. So has any one else gone thru this and what was the