PDA

View Full Version : Help with a 5th wheel build [3.5]

Librarian_Conan
2012-02-28, 04:11 PM
I'm about to join a 3.5 game at 6th level where most anything from 3.5 is allowed pending DM approval. The main focus of the campaign is dragon cults and dragon slaying. The party as it stands is

a semi-optimized rogue going towards shadow dancer (not sure what else beyond that)

An optimized wizard looking towards becoming an initiate of the seven fold veil

A fighter with no optimization what-so-ever

And finally a cleric that is close to becoming a divine oracle.

My question is what class could I possibly play that wouldn’t overlap terribly with what is already being played. I was looking towards perhaps a master thrower with levels in swashbuckling to help increase the DMG somewhat and give the rogue a sneaking companion. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated as it is my first time being a PC in longer than I care to admit.

gorfnab
2012-02-28, 04:29 PM
I would say go with the classic 5th wheel, Bard. They can buff the party, cast spells, and can melee (snowflake wardance). Go with Dragonfire Inspiration for the theme of your campaign.

hymer
2012-02-28, 04:30 PM
What skills do you think go uncovered? Would a party face be useful (bards make useful 5th characters if you like that sort of thing)? Or a tracker/nature type (druid or ranger or scout or something)?
Or would the fighter be bothered if you outshine him? Sounds like you might be useful as some sort of melee guy to flank with the rogue. A melee cleric/crusader/gish/anything else you'd like maybe?

Let me, by he way, say how much I envy you. It's great to be so free to choose. Enjoy it! :)

gallagher
2012-02-28, 05:10 PM