PDA

View Full Version : A Question about O-Chul

Kaurne
2012-03-03, 08:54 AM
After browsing the Order of the Stick TV Tropes page, I discovered a comment about O-Chul stating that he has a Con score in the mid twenties (which I interpret as being anywhere from 23-26) according to the Giant. I have played some D&D, but I'm not an expert, so please can someone tell me - how can you get a Con score that high?

Even if he started with a score of 18, I don't see how we could gain anywhere between 5 and 8 points in Con so easily. I guess magic items could do that, but somehow I don't think the Giant would count that, and O-Chul has never been said to possess any magic items, which would probably have been confiscated in his imprisonment anyway.

He seems to be a regular human, so I don't think he has a racial bonus - although I don't know enough about the lesser used races to offer any judgement there.

Assuming he is greater than level 12, which is pretty much a given, he will have had three ability point boosts as he has leveled. If he put all of those into Con, and is also of a race that gives a +2 con bonus, and started with 18 Con, he could get up to 23, the minimum (that I would consider necessary) for a 'mid-twenties' Con score.

Still, as I said, I don't think he is likely to be anything other than a normal human, so can someone please help me - how else could O-Chul have achieved such a high Con score?

Iain
2012-03-03, 09:01 AM
He ate Chuck Norris.

Storm Bringer
2012-03-03, 09:02 AM
After browsing the Order of the Stick TV Tropes page, I discovered a comment about O-Chul stating that he has a Con score in the mid twenties (which I interpret as being anywhere from 23-26) according to the Giant. I have played some D&D, but I'm not an expert, so please can someone tell me - how can you get a Con score that high?