PDA

View Full Version : Subjunctive help, please

danzibr
2012-03-09, 08:30 AM
I've never understood subjunctive. I've read about it on various sites and I have a vague understanding, but I'm still unclear in some places. I'll list a bunch of options and please indicate which is right and why (or if both are right, what they mean).

1.1a) I wish I was a dog.
1.1b) I wish I were a dog.

1.2a) I wish I was a salesman.
1.2b) I wish I were a salesman.

2.1a) If I was a dog...
2.1b) If I were a dog...

2.2a) If I was a salesman...
2.2b) If I were a salesman...

3a) If I was wrong, I'm sorry.
3b) If I were wrong, I would be sorry.

And I can't think of more at the moment, but if anyone else can think of enlightening examples, I'm all up for it.

First, the reason I have the similar examples is because in class two days ago (I teach math at a university) I started randomly talking about subjunctive. I had a student say I had to learn a foreign language to understand subjunctive. I said I was learning Japanese (semester 8) but Japanese doesn't have subjunctive. She then said I needed to learn a romance language. I asked if she understood subjunctive and she said yes. I asked her about it, and she said it depended on a lot of things, like if it's possible to be what you're talking about, and what comes after, so for example you would say, "I wish I was a salesman" because it's possible for me to be a salesman, but I would not say, "I wish I was a dog" because I can't be a dog.

So anyway, I'll take a stab at answering my own questions. The ones that are correct are:

1.1b and 1.2b: pretty sure you always use subjunctive with things like, "I wish."

I think you'd always do 2.1b and 2.2b also.

3a and 3b are both proper. The first indicates an actual apology, the second is... a possible apology? I don't know. I read this somewhere.

Also, how about if you change the subject from I to he or something?

Yora
2012-03-09, 08:39 AM