PDA

View Full Version : Preventing misuse of enchantments (Pathfinder)

Rift_Wolf
2012-04-09, 06:23 PM
I'm a fairly new GM (I've been running a game for almost a year now) and although I enjoy it and the players all enjoy the game, I have a bit of a problem with the sorcerer of the group, mainly in his usage of the suggestion spell. I've let him cut loose with it after running an undead-heavy campaign, but it's getting to the point where he's walking the thin line between goofy **** and definite sex crimes. It started off with him making goblins hug each other during a fight to stop them fighting, but in the last game he made one slaver 'fall in love' with another tied-up slaver. What's more, he seems to think suggestion will work on everything, including bosses.
Now, I'm not very good at confronting players about how they're playing the game, and I'm not sure if I'm taking the game too seriously and should let him have his fun (Although, even after getting himself killed by a boss, he still thinks 'suggestion' is somehow going to work against an ogre mage monk). However, in-game, there's no reason why the slavers, having endured mindrape and physical molestation, won't hunt down the sorcerer and cut off his thumbs. I'm not sure if this would be vindictive on my part, however.

The tldr version: How do I stop a 3rd level spell from ruining my game without being unfair or overly harsh to the player?

JonRG
2012-04-09, 11:40 PM
You influence the actions of the target creature by suggesting a course of activity (limited to a sentence or two). The suggestion must be worded in such a manner as to make the activity sound reasonable. Asking the creature to do some obviously harmful act automatically negates the effect of the spell.

That should cover the truly outrageous stuff. :smallsmile:

Malachei
2012-04-10, 02:35 AM
It started off with him making goblins hug each other during a fight to stop them fighting,