PDA

View Full Version : Best way to play Exalted...

Grod_The_Giant
2012-04-26, 10:47 PM
...without, you know, playing Exalted. I've been playing in a friend's campaign for a few months now, and while I love the setting and flavor, and even like the ideas behind the mechanics, they all break down when combat starts. And by "break down," I mean "take an hour to get through a single round." So I ask... has anyone done work to make the system smoother? Or, failing that, translate things into another medium?

Lord Raziere
2012-04-26, 11:31 PM
Get Strands of Fate. It can do Exalted much faster and better

It can do all other settings to. So you won't just be getting an Exalted conversion, but a conversion tool for everything else as well.

Hiro Protagonest
2012-04-27, 09:30 AM
I really want to buy Strands of Fate... I'll have to get my mom to order it from Amazon when she gets home.

Edit: Make that Lulu Press. Apparently, it has the correct prices, while Amazon has paperback at 60$, and I didn't see a hardcover. And I'll be ordering it tomorrow at the earliest.

Do I have to get Strands of Power as well? That seems like it would have the higher-powered stuff. Plus, in the Exalted Discussion, Raziere mentioned "Power Advantages" as an Advantage type.

Grod_The_Giant
2012-04-27, 11:39 AM
After posting this, I actually sort of started thinking about Mutants and Masterminds. If nothing else, it runs smoothly, has a similar sort of point-buy system, and is built around silly-epic characters.

I was kind of thinking that you'd start with power level 3 or 4 and no super-powers, representing the badass mortal that you were before Exaltation, then gain an array of power points equal to... oh, 10-20 times your essence (in Exalted terms). A "charm" would be an Alternate Effect, probably a dynamic one. Possibly with the Activation flaw for supplemental charms.

Thoughts?

Geostationary
2012-04-28, 01:25 AM