PDA

View Full Version : Healer/Druid Character build

karl256
2012-04-27, 07:59 PM
Hello,

I am new to D&D and I am still in my first campaign. I recently had my character die and my party is in need of a healer/magic damage user. I have been thinking I would like to play a Druid but I am just not terribly familiar with D&D and I have been browsing books and books and have come away just overwhelmed. If anyone could push me in the right direction of a good character build that would help out my party I would very much appreciate it.

Righteous Doggy
2012-04-27, 08:06 PM
Its really, really difficult to go wrong with a druid. You can do some crazy awesome things with wild shape, an animal companion can outshine some of the other classes in melee, and you can just pick a different set of spells anytime you picked ones you don't think work out for you.

And have you been to the 3.5 srd? That really simplifies things I think. Less clutter from being a book and you can just open tabs to things you want to look through. Copy and paste to something you can take notes on can be your best friend with online resources.
Also handbooks, just search for a druid handbook and you get all sorts of guides telling you how to make a cool druid(again, hard to go wrong and they can be overpowered)
Sorry i don't have a lot of personal advice, I haven't played a straight druid before.

ShneekeyTheLost
2012-04-27, 08:19 PM
A couple of things for playing a Druid as a healer:

1) Summon Nature's Ally can summon some things that are really useful or have nifty abilities. For example, SNA IV lets you summon up a Unicorn (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/unicorn.htm). Under 'Spell-like Abilities':

A unicorn can use cure light wounds three times per day and cure moderate wounds once per day (caster level 5th) by touching a wounded creature with its horn. Once per day it can use neutralize poison (DC 21, caster level 8th) with a touch of its horn.