PDA

View Full Version : Persisted Magic Jar?? and Other Shenanigans

McToomin
2012-05-02, 12:24 PM
Hey everyone. I'm still fairly new to D&D, and we've just begun a game where I am playing my first necromancer. So far I am an anthropomorphic bat Cloistered Cleric 2 / Monk 1 (to qualify for Master of Shrouds early, also gives Wis (best stat) to AC). My planned build is to go for MoS until level 8, where I take Mystic Wanderer (a faerun book, I don't remember which atm) to gain Cha (2nd best stat) to AC and a familiar. Obviously, I will be focusing heavily on spellcasting, buffs, and I'm going for undead mastery. The other two players are baleen whale cleric going into a smiting prestige class (although at level 3, she's currently just a baleen whale with 3 RHD (she'll begin cleric next level), and an anthropomorphic monkey cleric going into sacred fist ("Go team cleric!"). So yeah, they have melee covered.

So basically, I was interested in tying the invisible magic jar trick I read about in the dread necromancer's handbook. Basically, do magic jar, hand it to your quasit (or imp) familiar that can fly and go invisible at will, and stuff your body in a haversack/portable hole while you fly around as an invisible magic jar. 1) Grab control of rebuked undead bodies, 2) ???, 3) Profit! Unfortunately, as I'm coming from cleric, there are a few problems here.

1) I already have access to DMM: Persist, an I'm going to be collecting turning attempts like they're pokemon. However, can magic jar be persisted? The text as I understand it indicates that it can't be, but I don't have much familiarity with metamagic, so I wanted to double check. If not, it does seem like I can extend it, at the very least.