PDA

View Full Version : [Pathfinder] Looking for help with a newb building a Social Bard

Ripplez
2012-05-02, 01:03 PM
hi. i am new to pathfinder and tabletop rpgs in general, this is my second character im looking to build (the first was a human wizard who got extensive help from the dm and a fellow player). i want to build a bard who has very high social skills to the exclusion of any real combat prowess (just enough to get by to some degree). instead the bard tries to diplomatise, bluff and intimidate her way through the campaign, convincing warriors to drop their swords against her party, convincing rogues to give back the loot they stole and say sorry ma'am. to see the wizard who wanted to destroy you into nothingness and make a diplomacy check and suddenly he sees your side of thing. another bluff roll and hes now joined your cause. another roll and hes your sworn ally for life

another way of thinking about it would be the fallout games, the end boss of fallout 1 and 3 for comparison; how simply through talking and rhetoric and logical arguments you can bring people to their knees. this character should work based off of their social skills to find allies, defeat enemies by making them surrender or join your side or simply leave you alone. and you amass more and more power through the contacts youve made and the gold youve "asked" people to hand over until you reach this stage : http://www.giantitp.com/comics/oots0767.html
where you basicly convince sauron to drop the ring into the fires of hell to save you the trouble.

sorry for going on about the fluff but i felt i pictured this character in a specific way but dont have the know-how both about character building and about social skills at higher levels to make it a reality. i picture the character as being a halfling or gnome or some other small race. can be hyper and excited in some situations, can be relaxed and chill, sitting back with a hat pulled over her eyes to be all cool.