PDA

View Full Version : Using 4e for Team PvP

knightMARE
2012-05-10, 10:19 PM
I had an idea the other day at my local gaming club while discussing a Mordheim League. 4e, played in a style similar to Mordheim, making it a tactical minis game instead of an RPG.

The plan would be to have players controlling a team of 3-5 characters, built to a certain level, and play off against other teams in a variety of scenarios. Has anyone ever attempted something similar? Would you play in such a game? Do you have any advice regarding team size, possible scenarios, house rules, starting levels etc.

Alot of potential players will have little experience with 4e (I personally will have more than they do, but I'm no expert) so any and all advice will be greatly appreciated

NecroRebel
2012-05-10, 10:49 PM
The biggest problem with this is that PCs are designed to be high-damage but relatively little endurance. Monsters compensate by being relatively low-damage but high durability, so that evens out, but in a PC-vs.-PC fight, I think you're going to run into people dying in 3 or fewer hits. Striker nova rounds, even encounter-based nova rounds, could kill a PC outright, especially at lower levels, so I'd be worried that a team consisting of 5 longbow rangers would be built, win initiative, and just kill the other team before they can act to win the scenario by default.

To avoid this, I'd suggest you do not run this at below level 5, minimum, dictate that no role must have more than 2 instances on any team, and probably limit group sizes to 4 at most. You might even consider forbidding the use of daily powers altogether; this would prevent heavy-duty novas and would always allow everyone to start a battle on even footing. At the very least, you should limit how many dailies are used per battle so as to stop one team from burning all of theirs for a guaranteed win.

Ashdate
2012-05-10, 11:02 PM