PDA

View Full Version : Paranoia

Litewarior
2012-05-22, 08:39 PM
I'm planning on running a game or two of Paranoia with my group, and there are a few things that I'd like some advice on.

None of them know about the game, what do I tell them ahead of time, how far ahead, or do I just let them go in blindly?

Should I make characters for them, or give them pre generated characters?

Since this is my first time too, which module should I run?

Any other suggestions you might have would be welcome too.

TheEmerged
2012-05-22, 08:50 PM
The most important piece of advice?

"You aren't cleared for that, citizen."

Get used to saying that, constantly :smallcool: Find a four-year old and pay them in ice cream\favorite candy to help you practice giving that answer for everything. Make a sign with that saying if you want to just hold it up when appropriate.

The second most important piece of advice? Invest it index cards, post-it notes, or some other form of passing covert notes to the players. Pre-print a few with the phrase "Act like this note says something very important/scary" to help get your players in the mood :smallbiggrin:

A third piece of advice? Get thee to a library and check out some Kafka.

What shoud you tell the players? That there's a traitor in the midst of the players, and they should be prepared for it. "It might even be you... and you won't know until you get your character sheet."

Whatever you do, don't let on that they're ALL going to be traitors.

Tell them NOTHING else. NOTHING. No, not even that. Nope, not that either. They don't get the rulebook, they don't even get to see the <censored>, and if one of them seems to know any of that s/he should be punished since only a traitor would have secret information like that.