PDA

View Full Version : Build Synergies

Ointhedwarf
2012-05-22, 11:57 PM
Hi, I'm new in both the forum and the game so I'm also asking this to find out about build and stuff I didn't know. We're currently playing a campaign with a ninja, a wizard, a ranger and my samurai(3rd lvl fighter), we're still lvl 3 but I'm aiming for a full attack build with 2 katanas and later multiclassing in the singh rager PrC from Oriental Adventures. A friend is thinking of entering the game and since the campaign is combat based we were thinking of a build which would synergize with my fighter, whatever that build would be. What would you recomend in a situation like this? [warblade and probably bard excluded].

Ty

sonofzeal
2012-05-23, 12:42 AM
Oh dear. Uh. Where to start. Your own build has some serious issues, and I'd be remiss if I didn't offer what I could in that direction.

- TWF is generally poor. It works for Rogues because they have buckets of d6 that get triggered each attack, but under normal circumstances you're almost always better off using a single weapon in two hands. You're paying feats to become worse at fighting.

- EWP: Bastard Sword is generally poor. You're paying a feat for, on average, +1 damage over a longsword. And +1 damage is never worth a feat, at any level.

- TWFing with Bastard Swords requires an additional feat, "Oversized Two Weapon Fighting". At that point you start seeing some slight return on your investment, but it's still slight and you've now invested a whole bunch of feats into something that's only barely competitive with a guy who chose a Greatsword and didn't bother with any feats at all.

- Speaking as an Iaidoka myself, very few historical Samurais used Two-Weapon-Fighting. Far more often, it was a single blade held in one or two hands (two by preference). If you want to be a Samurai, you should consider using one big sword and saving yourself a bucket of feats.