PDA

View Full Version : Eldritch Theurge

Eonir
2012-05-23, 05:50 PM
So one of my players wants to play a cleric/warlock, then go into eldritch theurge. Most likely go cleric3/warlock1/ET10. He will be CG and an aasimar. 28 point buy as well, so he'll have the points to pump up wis and cha.

I think its a cool character concept and at a glance the ET looks like a solid Prc, but alas I have no experience with it at all. Anyone out there that does, what are your thoughts and opinions of it?

TL;DR- Is the Eldritch Theurge class good? Why or why not?

Waker
2012-05-23, 06:14 PM
I think the Eldritch Disciple is a decent class. You'll lose a minimum of two cleric levels (one from taking a level of Warlock and a second at the first level of the PrC) but otherwise it progresses Turn/Rebuke Undead, offers the same HD, BAB and saves as a cleric. I think the Gifts are pretty bland, though Eldritch Spellweave might be useful. The biggest selling points is that you lose very little of your cleric powers in exchange for the invocations of the Warlock. I would suggest focusing more on the all-day buff type invocations, but that's just my preference.

CheeseMerchant
2012-05-23, 06:33 PM
Hello,

The Eldritch Theurge is an Arcane/Invocation class. I think your player is wanting to play and Eldritch Disciple which is the Divine version. My thoughts follow from this assumption.

General thoughts:

This class will require the player to sacrifice 2 effective caster levels (one for Warlock 1 and 1 from the PrC). This is a significant reduction in power, but given that Cleric is an inherently powerful class this reduction might make the PC more suitable to your game. You know better than I what kind of power level is comfortable for you (as a DM) and your players.

Entry Requirements: