PDA

View Full Version : Rogue builds

thorgrim29
2012-06-13, 07:38 AM
Hey, for an upcoming game a friend of mine who's new to DnD wants to play a rogue and I have little experience in rogues. What are good builds for a melee rogue that are mostly core based? (everything is pretty much allowed but I don't want to confuse him needlessly, but as a player is doing a swordsage dipping into a ToB class is fair game)

Thanks

Gwendol
2012-06-13, 07:49 AM
Depends on what you want to do, and at what level.

If your friend wants to focus on sneak attacks he/she can dual class rogue and swashbuckler levels using the daring outlaw feat. Swashbuckler gets weapon finesse "for free". This build more or less needs TWF to shine, and will require some tactical planning in order to be able to flank and thus trigger SA damage.
To get more mileage out of sneak attacks take the Penetrating Strike ACF (half SA damage to constructs, undead, oozes, and others with no anatomy) in stead of trap sense.
The Craven feat is also often recommended.

Factotum, Beguiler, Spell thief all do the rogue thing fairly well, and may offer additional advantages from their spellcasting.

thorgrim29
2012-06-13, 09:01 AM
I like the way you think... So get rogue 3/swashbuckler 2 by level 6 for daring outlaw, then possible take a swordsage level here and there for much fun. For feats.... He wants to be an elf so he only gets a feat at level 1. Two weapon fighting for sure. For level 3, craven or two-weapon defence I guess.

Gwendol
2012-06-13, 09:38 AM
Well, if he will consider flaws he can get more feats at level one. Jack of all trades, improved initiative, able learner, or a luck-related feat (suits the scoundrel well).

danzibr
2012-06-13, 12:22 PM
Well, if he will consider flaws he can get more feats at level one. Jack of all trades, improved initiative, able learner, or a luck-related feat (suits the scoundrel well).
All are great feats, but remember Able Learner is only for humans (you said Elf, right?)