PDA

View Full Version : 3.5 - Favored Soul to the Goddess of Fireflies

shimmercat
2012-06-28, 02:55 PM
Starting a new game, with a Fairy Tale-themed world! We're a pretty low-op, high-RP group.

I have a LOT of experience playing clerics, so when he realized that the healer position was going to fall to me, the DM suggested Favored Soul. The backstory he suggested is that I'm the child of a human and a very minor god. He let me invent my god.

I decided on the Goddess of Fireflies.

So I'm playing a heavily re-fluffed Halfling, Favored Soul and daughter of the Goddess of Fireflies. We're starting at level 9. Race, class, and god have been decided and cannot be changed. (I know that their are insectoid races out there, but the DM doesn't want me going that alien and I agree with him.)

The goddess:
Svetryla, the goddess of fireflies
(Portfolio: fireflies, night insects, the night, the stars, secrets, illicit lovers)

The DM has said that I can trade the elemental resistances for a domain that would be in addition to my spells known. He made this one:
1. Nimbus of Light
2. Master Air
3. Flashburst
4. Persistent Image
5. Rejuvinating cocoon
6. Fires of Purity
7. Creeping Doom
8. Prying Eyes, Greater
9. Effulgent Eppuration

I'm looking for suggestions on a couple of things.

Any fun cleric spells that fit in a "firefly" theme? I'm thinking insects, light and dark, flight... Most of these spells are Druid or Sorc/Wiz, but there have to be some for clerics.
Ideas on how to effectively play a Favored Soul? PrCs? Ways to get around the Wisdom dependency? (other than, well, not casting spells that need a save.)

Thanks guys, I appreciate any help you can give me!

Thrice Dead Cat
2012-06-28, 03:13 PM
Consider checking out animal or plant domains for spells. I know SpC has some low level moonbeam spells on the druid list and I want to say some are also cleric spells.