PDA

View Full Version : Monk/Drunken Master help?

TimeLordLaxx
2012-07-05, 06:05 PM
I'm somewhat new to D&D (doing a 3.5 campaign) and a new character I am making is going to be a half dragon human monk. I don't really care how terrible that is (if it even is all that bad) but what I do want to know is what are the pro's and con's of going into Drunken Master as well as Monk. This character will be joining after my present character dies so in about two levels, which means the group will be about 8 and with the LA of +3 my guy will be somewhere around level 5. Thanks in Advance.

Gavinfoxx
2012-07-05, 06:50 PM
So it sounds like you want to do this:

-Make a melee combatant
-Who is unarmed and unarmored
-Who alternately uses items he finds around him to kick ass (ie, improvised weapons)
-Who is empowered to be better at melee combat and hard to hit by drinking alcohol (or some other poison)
-Who is difficult to hit
-Where you can plausibly flavor him as a wushu martial artist
-Who can be a useful in the group as a highly mobile striker
-Who can hold his own in the group

Correct?

If that is the case, you are doing three terrible things with regards that goal:

1.) Getting a level adjustment of over +0
2.) Using the Monk Class
3.) Being a Half-Dragon

The Drunken master is okay... but that's mostly because it's an improvement to the Monk. In comparison to any class that isn't a dog with fleas, it would suck.

Could you clarify if those assumptions I mentioned before are correct?

Urpriest
2012-07-05, 07:03 PM
Drunken Master encourages you to use improvised weapons, but never grants you proficiency with them, so you take a -4 penalty to use them. It also lowers your Wis when you drink. I'd ask for some changes to the class if you can.

Randomguy
2012-07-05, 09:52 PM
Wasn't there an Iron Chef challenge with Drunken Master? You should probably look that up.