PDA

View Full Version : Newbie DM with silly question (D&D 3.5)

Redshark
2012-07-11, 07:44 AM
Hi everyone and Hail from Portugal
Sorry in advanced for any gramatical errors

So, I'm a newbie trying to dm and I want to create a scenario where my players will be hit by an avalanche. This avalanche will lead them to discover the entrance for a long lost temple. I wanted to know how would you experienced dungeon masters do this.
As I picture it in my mind, for example, I guess there's a chance for them to drop (and forever lose) their weapons, shields etc. So...shall I make them make a save, a check, or what?
Also, I'd love to read any cool ideas you might have for this kind of scenario

Thank you all oh great masters of the realms

Kol Korran
2012-07-11, 07:50 AM
i would perhaps have them roll some spot/ listen checks to notice the avalanache (how hard you want to make it depends on you, but from some point onwards it should be damn obvious). then allow them 1- a few rounds to try and evade it's terrotory, or seek/ create cover. if they are still in it's path when it hits, and they have no special cover (bit rock, ledge and so on), then... i think a reflex save is in order for some damage. i don't think they'll lose weapons and such, D&D often doesn't go to that much detail.

if you do wish there to be a chance to lose equipment, ask yourself- how will the game's fun be served in doing so?

that's my opinion at least.

Malak'ai
2012-07-11, 08:04 AM
Spot and listen checks are a certainty. Avalanches are large and noisy, VERY unlikely that anyone on the same mountain as one would miss it.
Also reflex saves for damage is also a good idea, as is the risk of them being trapped leading to fort saves against crushing damage/suffercation.
I wouldn't advice having the PC's lose equipment, escpecially if it's not just the basic equipment eg. Masterwork or Magical, they've generally gone to some length to gain the gold to purchase it.

Pilo
2012-07-11, 08:31 AM