PDA

View Full Version : [3.5] New DM could use advice

hennasmith
2012-07-11, 05:38 PM
I'm new to Dm'ing, but not to 3.5. I've played under the same DM for the last four years or so, on and off. He has finally had enough and wants to be able to play, so I offered to run a game.

Our first week went pretty well. They were hired by the Mayor to investigate and deal with whoever was kidnapping women and torturing/killing them. They discovered a cult to Scahrossar and wiped it out, then got the heck out of town. That's where we stopped. Ultimately, I'd like to build the cult thing into a widespread problem they have to deal with, maybe culminating with a confrontation with her avatar or uber-priest.

The problem I'm having while trying to prep for our second week is creating encounters that will be challenging enough without being too strong. Last week they did have a little challenge with the BBEG, but everything else was kind of chump change for them. So what would y'all recommend for me to throw at them? Also, I'm having trouble keeping the rogue entertained... He wants to go thieving and I'm not sure how to DM that.

My players are the previous DM playing a wizard, his wife playing a dual-wielding fighter, and my husband playing a rogue.

dascarletm
2012-07-11, 05:43 PM
First, what are the classes/levels of the players? (any cool abilities they have as well?)
Second, what are their personalities? (characters, and players)
Third, where are they in your world? (terrain, climate, wilderness level)
Fourth, what kind of campaign world is it generally? (I'd hate to suggest something that wouldn't make sense in your world.)

Without knowing all the characters and what they are like I can't really give you a good answer:smallsmile:

hennasmith
2012-07-11, 06:04 PM