PDA

View Full Version : [PF] Recommend me an adventure path

Wonton
2012-07-12, 09:03 PM
Hi, I'm fairly new to PF but I've started picking up the new mechanics and new classes and I like everything I see so far. There's one thing I haven't looked at all yet though, and that's the adventure paths. Everything I've heard about them has been very positive, so my question is, which one should I try first? Apparently they can take you from level 1 to level 16, which seems to make them more like extremely in-depth campaign settings with built-in encounters.

Thanks for any and all help and advice.

deuxhero
2012-07-12, 09:14 PM
Do you like subsystems?

Ravenica
2012-07-13, 12:47 AM
well ive run jade regent, kingmaker and im running skull and shackles for two groups right now and its hella fun

Wonton
2012-07-13, 01:51 AM
Do you like subsystems?

What do you mean? Like psionics and stuff? I generally try to stay away, mainly because most of the time they seem to only be introduced as a way of saying "are you bored of the normal rules? try this!", while I think the normal rules have more than enough depth for me.

Bhaakon
2012-07-13, 02:06 AM
Some of the adventure paths have a "game within a game" type of thing going on. Kingmaker has set of special rules for the group to manager their kingdom, Jade Regent has a (less fun, IMO, but more optional) subsystem for running a caravan, and Skull and Shackles has ship management and naval combat stuff (don't worry, I'm not spoiling anything that isn't already in the player's guides). Other APs don't have as much rules baggage to be learned.

Dread Angel
2012-07-13, 07:23 AM