PDA

View Full Version : Direction with spells for Sublime Chord, please

danzibr
2012-07-25, 07:32 PM
So I decided to go pure caster recently, so to speak. I'm currently level 9 in a campaign, and my DM rules it so that we can satisfy the prereq's for a PrC *as* we enter it, so I can go SC level 10.

I've been looking at a ton of suggestions for spells, namely the lists from here (http://community.wizards.com/go/thread/view/75882/19873034/Treantmonks_guide_to_Wizards:_Being_a_God), but man, there are so many options and I'm a big noob. Any guidance/suggestions?

It's worth mentioning I'm the party's primary (well, only) arcane caster, skill monkey, and the primary buffer. Other members are a Favored Soul, Fighter and Barbarian.

Snowbluff
2012-07-25, 08:19 PM
As general advice, try and get yourself some variety.

I'm a big fan of Celerity, personally.

The Bite of X spells are pretty good buffing spells.

Evard's Black Tentacles are pretty sweet, as well, but that's a rather generic suggestion.

LadyLexi
2012-07-25, 08:21 PM
I like picking up a little bit of blasting or AoE debuff as a sublime chord. Disintegrate is a good pick, with no other casters Teleport or Greater Teleport can be helpful to your party too.

You have more wiggle room than true wizards, so use it. You don't need 2 spells that do the same thing, so stay versatile. Avasculate(sp?) is a good high level pick for taking down the big bad.

Keld Denar
2012-07-25, 09:03 PM
Look at the Bard5/6 levels. Bards get a few spells quicker than Wizards, and you are getting them quicker than a Bard would. Of note, Greater Dispel Magic at 5th level is a steal, as is Heroes Feast at 6 and Otto's Irresistible Dance at 6.

Darrin
2012-07-26, 08:56 AM
How about...

4th:
Break enchantment - a good multi-purpose can-opener
Freedom of movement - GET IT. GET IT NOW.
Evard's hentai collection - the quintessential encounter-ender
Enervation - gold standard for debuffing, gets even better with metamagic