PDA

View Full Version : so... weapon damage...

bobthe6th
2012-08-10, 12:41 AM
are the numbers actually balanced?
poking around, I found that critical threat and multiplire are balanced against each other...(5% for each point, so a 10% damage boost overall for 18-20 and x4 damage weapons) and that they are equal with keen, hitting 20% average damage increase...

But each point costs 1 point of your average damage rolls... am I missing something? why wouldn't you take the full x4 or 18-20 at anything but low levels?

Fruchtkracher
2012-08-10, 01:10 AM
I am no expert in any way, but I suspect that if your main damage sources do not get multiplied on a crit (such as sneak attack unless I'm mistaken) then a higher base damage would be preferable.
On another hand, I'd rank the 18-20 range over the x4 any time, seeing how the quadruple damage should often end in overkill...

Big Fau
2012-08-10, 01:41 AM
In my opinion, not really. The variance between the stats of two weapons is so minimal that it almost makes no difference. 1d10 is not that big of a step up from 1d8, and only slightly more notable than 1d6.

I'd personally start the scale for damage higher than the current base (2d4 for something like a Dart, and scale it up to 3d12 for a Fullblade). Obviously adjusting HP would be required, but this would allow a larger array of variance and require more thought about your base weapon.

Kelb_Panthera
2012-08-10, 02:26 AM
By the time you reach mid levels the base damage of your weapon is completely irrelevant. The order of importance for a weapon's stats goes:

1 hand/2 hand/light -> Reach -> Special abilities, i.e. trip/disarm/misc. -> critical stats -> base damage

Obviously if you're building a crit fisher then crit stats move up to the front of the line, but if you're doing that then you're automatically picking an 18-20.