PDA

View Full Version : Ashworm Dragoon gestalt tank ideas

Huskergamer
2012-08-15, 11:04 PM
I have played DnD on and off for years and havent concerned myself with powergaming etc to much and just made characters that are fun to play. However a friend i know is starting a gestalt campaign and im thinking of making a tank/defender type of character. I was thinking of making him a mounted character and i would like to add as one of his classes eventually is the ashworm dragoon from sandstorm. What would be some recommended builds i could use for making a tank mounted character with that in mind? (I find the idea of riding a giant worm like in Dune pretty cool). Or is the ashworm dragoon prestige class not worth it? Or is the tank role not compatible with mounted character role? PLz bear with me this is my first time posting here.

eggs
2012-08-15, 11:16 PM
Gestalt tends to leave companion creatures a little fragile. If Devoted Tracker works across the gestalt, it can beef up the ashworm like crazy. If it doesn't, getting some way to share buffs with the Ashworm (Cleric levels on the other side? Totemist with Share Soulmeld?) will similarly patch it up.

Huskergamer
2012-08-16, 02:13 AM
when u say totemist I assume u mean from the Magic of Incarnum? also, would it mix well with the knight class from phb2, for base class before switching to ashworm when i have the pre reqs?

THEChanger
2012-08-16, 02:51 AM
Totemist is indeed from Magic of Incarnum.

With Share Soulmeld, you could give your Ashworm some pretty nice stuff. There are Soulmelds for teleportation, Soulmelds for extra attacks, and one that gives Pounce which is also nice. It doesn't necessarily mix well with Knight, but you could give your mount a nice boost.