PDA

View Full Version : Build advice: halfling Errol Flynn

Laserlight
2012-09-10, 11:46 PM
I'm a novice 3.5 player with a halfling Rogue 1 / Swashbuckler 3, by name Kestrel Langstaff. Kestrel wants to win sword fights, look good doing it, and pick up hot chicks.

NOTE: This is not "design a character from scratch", this is "I'm already at 4th level, about to get 5th level, where do I go from here?"

The campaign is nautical and thus far there are functionally no other player characters. Kestrel's using the "feats in lieu of sneak attacks" version of Rogue.

STR 12 DEX 18 CON 14 INT 14 WIS 8 CHA 14

Feats:
Combat Reflexes
Deft Opportunist
Weapon Finesse
TWF (Rapier and Dagger)
Daredevil Acrobatics

Notable abilities:
Insightful Strike

Skills:
At 9 or better: diplomacy, bluff, climb, tumble, move silently, hide
Others: musician 4, use magic device 3, jump 4, Local Knowledge 4

Next level is a level of Bard, because there's no point fighting if you can't tell the tale to an admiring bevy of comely half elven wenches. After that, it's Warblade. (No other TOB are available)

Right now, the thought is the Bardic Sage (Unearthed Arcana) with Healing Hymn (Complete Champion), and probably Knowledge Devotion when I can.

I get five cantrips, which I'm planning to be:

Prestidigitation: for general flexibility.
Light
Read Magic
Detect Magic
Message, for whispering in a girl's ear from across the bar, although I suppose it has other, less important uses

Comments on better cantrips, other things to do with Bard, or anything to take to prepare for Warblade?

laeZ1
2012-09-11, 12:00 PM
Sounds like you've got it all planned out.

Gavinfoxx
2012-09-11, 03:12 PM
What about the dead levels swashbuckler thing for level 4?

http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/cwc/20070227x

Also, it needs more Tome of Battle. A LOT more Tome of Battle!

Laserlight
2012-09-11, 06:28 PM
Sounds like you've got it all planned out.

Indeed. It's whether my plans make sense or not...

Venusaur