PDA

View Full Version : GM Advice: Number of encounters before resting

5th Earth
2012-09-18, 03:04 PM
Hello everyone!

I'm in the process of planning a Pathfinder game. This will be my first time GM'ing, and it's my first time with Pathfinder (though I've played D&D 3.5). The Pathfinder books contain a lot of good information for making encounters, and so on, but there is one thing I'm not really sure about.

How much can I put my party through before I give them a chance to heal up, rest and and restore spells, and so on? Obviously this is all pretty dependent on what sorts of encounters I'm using, but assuming everything is roughly party-level CRs, roughly how many encounters can an average party get through without a chance to seriously recuperate?

Madfellow
2012-09-18, 03:45 PM
The general assumption is that a full party of adventurers can get through around 4 level-appropriate encounters in a day without dying, because each encounter uses up around 20% of a party's daily resources (primarily spells, but also HP and magic items and stuff like that). A 5th encounter in a single day would likely kill the party.

That said, the party will rest whenever they want to, which will usually be right after a big fight or other dangerous encounter, or whenever the wizard starts running low on spells, or whenever the party starts to run low on health.

tyckspoon
2012-09-18, 10:05 PM
2 to arbitrarily large, depending on your players' skills at optimization and their grasp of good D&D tactics. The designed length of a fighting day (not necessarily the same as a length of an adventuring day or an actual sun-up-to-sun-down day, mind) was about four encounters of 'average' difficulty, but CR is no more than a rough gauge at best, and it goes completely out the window when you start dealing with the huge variety of options characters have in 3.5 and are developing with all the sources now available in Pathfinder.

Frog of War
2012-09-20, 02:18 AM