PDA

View Full Version : Uses for Intimidate and Diplomacy

D20Doctor
2012-10-07, 06:47 PM
I was wondering what are all of the uses for the Intimidate and Diplomacy skills. I have a Charisma based front line fighter and also the party face so I'm look to put together all of the uses of Charisma based skills. Thanks in advance for the help.

I mean like using Intimidate just before initiative a to challenge someone to a duel in order to get bonuses and stuff like that. I didn't plan on using Diplomacy in battle. I guess I'm not very good at clarifing what I mean.

Morithias
2012-10-07, 07:12 PM
Given that I know no one is going to say this one. Intimidate is used for Criminal businesses profit checks.

Duboris
2012-10-07, 07:13 PM
Diplomacy isn't as handy in a sword-fight as intimidate is. An especially intimidating fighter or barbarian can easily lower the saving throws, armor class, and damage of an enemy through intimidation feats such as Dazzling display.

Diplomacy is better at making fights avoidable.

hex0
2012-10-07, 07:17 PM
They ar both good, though 5 ranks in bluff may be better if you can afford it +2 to 3.5 skills synergy. So maxing Intimidate and Bluff with diplomacy on the side is usually the way to go.

Duboris
2012-10-07, 07:20 PM
They ar both good, though 5 ranks in bluff may be better if you can afford it +2 to 3.5 skills synergy. So maxing Intimidate and Bluff with diplomacy on the side is usually the way to go.

Assuming, of course, y'know, you don't ever want to hit anything ever again.

hex0
2012-10-07, 07:22 PM
What do you mean? What do skills have to do with hiting things?

Duboris
2012-10-07, 07:29 PM
What do you mean? What do skills have to do with hiting things?

If he gets all those and focuses solely on those skills, going so far as to center his feats around them, he could easily, through skill checks alone, mingle his way out of almost any painful encounter he wanted, could he not?

MesiDoomstalker
2012-10-07, 07:36 PM