PDA

View Full Version : Help Me Not Suck

Turalisj
2012-10-13, 06:25 PM
At running games that is. I've been playing tabletop games for the past 7-8 years and, while I'd like to consider myself at least an average roleplayer, I have found that I have a problem running games. I just cannot play NPCs properly and cannot stay focused on a plot. I was wondering what you guys do to handle NPCs and plot. Notes? Bullet points?

jackattack
2012-10-13, 07:17 PM
Regarding NPCs:

1. Make a card for each one. Put a picture on the back for the players to look at, and put whatever notes you need on your side. You can put them in a card rack you can find in the playing cards and poker chips section of your FLGS.

2. Pick a voice for each one. This might be as simple as an accent, even a bad one. It might just be a mannerism in their speech, like ending every sentence with the word "yes". It might be a voice impersonation of a movie character or an actor (or a friend). Find ways to make (important) NPCs sound unique when they speak.

3. Give each one a general motivation. Greed, lust, fame, fear, whatever. Keep it in mind when that NPC interacts with the party.

4. In addition to your important/recurring NPCs, keep a small collection of stock NPCs. When the players pick a random person to talk to, trot one of these out. Something that's kind of fun is to have a specific NPC (the street urchin, the blacksmith, whoever) who recurs in different places, but is a different person in each -- for example, it seems like every village idiot in the world is an affable redhead with brown burlap pants who calls everyone "gov'ner".

Regarding plot: