PDA

View Full Version : Is there and Empower Breath feat?

Malphite
2012-10-22, 12:15 AM
Hello everyone, I am Malphite I am new to the forums but I am a veteran DM of 3.5. I run a weekly game every friday at my place of residence, currently I am running a game that is based on Majora's Mask which contains throw backs to a game I first ran for two of my current players.

Now to the topic at hand. In this game one of my players is playing a dragonfire adept, and he is using a feat called Empower Breath. According to him and one of my other players, this feat can do in theory, infinite damage at the cost of losing your breath weapon for a certain amount of times you empower it. Now I am not 100% sure if this feat exists, and both of my players have not told me what book the feat is in. I was hoping that someone here could let me know if such a feat exists :).

Thank You for all who can help me in this search for said feat :P.

Ubercaledor
2012-10-22, 01:20 AM
"Maximise breath" from p71, Draconomicon?

A breath attack uses maximum damage, lasts for the maximum time, but takes a full round action.

e.g. a breath attack that dealt 2d6 damage for 1d4 turns would deal 12 damage for 4 turns

That's the closest I could find...

Ubercaledor
2012-10-22, 01:22 AM
also see Heighten Breath, Enlarge breath, Extend Spreading Breath, Lingering Breath?

Khedrac
2012-10-22, 02:19 AM
As the DM you need to have a good read of the Draconomicon and Dragon magic books then work out how you want to handle it.

If you don't have the books, borrow them from the players wanting to use them. If they don't have the book then ban them from using material they don't have legal access to.

The feat exists, but there is a problem with the way most of the meta-breath feats have been written.
There's a general rule saying you can stack multiple uses of the same extension to the same breath in exchange for a longer delay before the next breath.