PDA

View Full Version : New at cleric, what domain.

Olfgar
2012-11-20, 03:58 AM
I was going to be playing a LE or NE cleric of Nerrul and considering working towards lichifying myself if the campaign takes off, and before i even get into coming up with class progression etc, I need to pick a domain.

I was thinking of Death and Trickey, because well...Trickey will let me pick up some decent spells that I dont have access to (even if it is only once per day....) Like Time Stop. Invisibility is nice to, but yes im aware that its easily worked around but at lower levels itd be nice.

And Death...well it gives me the create undead spells and greater one so I dont need to waste preparing them, Wail of The Banshee if for some reaosn I decide against time stop, and couple from IMO (again I have NO experience with divine casting, or very high arcane casting) save or die spells, Slay Living, and Destruction (and again, wail of the banshee). And...Death Touch is ok...i guess...maybe? at lower levels atleast.

The reason i am thinking about not taking Evilis that, well, only semi decent spells, most of which are against good, and we wont be fighting very many good enemies. Hell the onlly 2 non buffs that are worth while are Desecrate, and thats if im going to be summoning lots of undead, and Unholy Blight for the debuff it gives. and event hen I already can prepare all of these spells if I want.

Your thoughts? Also were doing 3.5, but the DM may swap a few things out for the pathfinder version, such as our races (you know, humans getting that chosen +2 stat bonus and what not).

eggs
2012-11-20, 04:13 AM
Trickery is awesome. Good spells, decent skill list expansion - especially for a Cloistered Cleric. It's definitely a locked choice if you go with Nerull.