PDA

View Full Version : So, got a job...

fergo
2012-11-25, 07:39 AM
Right.

So I'm a third-year student (on a four year course) and I've been looking for a job for ages. I've never had a job before, so the places willing to take me on are limited.

I'm a member of my uni's Ale and Cider Society and have volunteered at a couple of CAMRA (the Campaign for Real Ale) festivals so I have a little bit of experience in that area, as well as knowledge of local breweries and beer.

Back in September I had a trial shift at a local pub. I had been really looking forward to it, but in the event I found it really stressful. I wasn't given any training and was put on on a Friday night. It was kind of fun, but I messed up quite a bit as well and got in people's way. And, in the end, I didn't get the job.

Part of the issue was that the pub had a large selection of spirits and liquers, most of which I was unfamiliar with. So if someone asked for something, I had to scan the shelves to see if they had it.

Anyways, I don't mean to whine; in the end, I wasn't up to their standards, and that's fair enough.

So now I've been given a job* at another pub. But instead of working behind the bar, I'd be in the cellar, looking after the ales. It'd also be pretty autonomous, as far as I can tell; the whole point is that the cellar manager needs someone to handle this particular part of the cellar.

The hours are great, it's a great pub and the people seem friendly. And best of all, I'd be dealing with beers that I love, get loads of really useful experience, and might even get involved in choosing which beers to get next, which would be really good fun.

So in some ways, it seems like the perfect job.

On the other hand, there are a few downsides.

Firstly, there's a lot of manual work. Don't get me wrong, I'll give it 110%, but I fear my natural talents don't lie that way. Lifting several gallons of beer regularly may not be possible (on the other hand, it'd be a great way to get fit).