PDA

View Full Version : Backstory format

Crazyfailure13
2012-12-18, 07:29 PM
Random thought on my part, as a GM I like to have backstory to the characters that I'm running a game with, and have them have some depth, but that tends not to be the easiest thing to find, though this is just with some players.

Or sometimes It's like a player makes a book for his characters life,

What I want to ask is their anyone out here on the forums, that use a format or list to create character's backstory that can be applied universally, and makes them more compact or detailed?

Grinner
2012-12-18, 07:37 PM
You know, I remember reading about something like this in that Dragon Magazine compendium. Let me see if I can dig it up.

Edit: Okay. That was easier than I expected. It's called the Seven Sentence NPC. I've never used it before, but it looks like a good idea.

You need to write seven short descriptions, each one sentence long.

Occupation and History
Physical Description
Attributes and Skills*
Values and Motivations
Interactions with Others
Useful Knowledge
Distinguishing Feature

*Just note anything unusual, such as high traits, low traits, or special skills.

Crazyfailure13
2012-12-18, 07:48 PM
That looks like it would work, Having never read the dragon mags (and fearing to do so because of various negative things I've heard about it.) I would never have found this.

Lord Il Palazzo
2012-12-18, 08:25 PM
I don't use any specific format, though I've seen a pretty good looking list of questions around somewhere. It had the usual things you'd expect ("Where are you from?" "Why are you adventuring?" and a few more unique ones like "List three people who are important to you" and "What are your biggest goals?")