PDA

View Full Version : Game Design: TBS One-on-One Combat

Rosstin
2013-01-19, 11:59 AM
Hey guys. I'm a student game designer at CMU with a couple projects under my belt, and I'm currently working with a client who wants me to design a turn-based 1vs1 tile-based battling game with monsters. Ultimately this will be a videogame, but while the programmers are bringing up the interface I'm experimenting with mechanics and trying to create some compelling gameplay on a board.

At first my thought was that you couldn't make a turn-based grid combat game where 1 vs 1 combat was fun. After experimenting a bit with a scheme of simultaneous movement and combat (a rock-paper-scissors-like situation where predicting the enemy's movement is important), I've concluded that it's possible to make a fun game out of this. However, I'm still having trouble coming up with fun mechanics. One of the things the client wants is a focus on environment rules. The monsters shoot around ice and fire and the environment changes based on this.

Anyway, I come to you to ask you about your experience with tile-based TBS combat systems. Are there any really fun games I can look at that focus on one-unit versus one-unit combat on a board? The fact that I can't think up a lot of examples indicates to me that there are conceptual problems with this type of gameplay that I have to understand and solve before it becomes fun.

NichG
2013-01-19, 12:17 PM
There was a lot of this way way back, but not really turnbased now that I think of it. The old games Dark Legions and Archon had a sort of large-scale army strategy setup that resolved individual attacks between units as a 1-vs-1 fight, but it was realtime.