PDA

View Full Version : [3.5] Survival Horror alternative rules

Toy Killer
2013-01-21, 03:59 PM
So, my campaign is survival horror. I was looking through UA and started cherry picking, but I'm not sure if I'm being too relaxed or too strict on the survival part of survival horror game; I've never used any of these before and don't want to needlessly slaughter the party TPK after TPK.

They will be on a time crunch and I can't let them simply rest whenever they deplete their resources, so I focused on things that reduced their need to rest whenever they are low on /day resources.

What I'm looking at right now is:

Vitality/wound points.

Action points

An alternative recharge spell idea, after each encounter a spell-craft check of 15+spell level expended to regain the magic for the next encounter.

After the days start to pass, divine magic will require a concentration check (DC 12 plus 1 per day passed) to cast, putting more emphasis on the heal skill.

We have a Grapple barbarian (Spirit lion, Bear totem), Diplomancer Bard, Cleric of ultra heal/turning, Long Ranged Ranger, and a Sorcerer (speced for firing off fire spells).

ArcturusV
2013-01-21, 04:10 PM
These are good, but I'm leery of the spell recharge one myself. DC 15+spell level is nothing, just a couple levels in and your Sorcerer will be easily comfortable taking 10 to regain all his spells. Of course if you ran with a wizard character then from level 1 on he'd have take 10 cruise control, so that's something to think about later on or if you do this with another party/group. Or if your Sorcerer bites it and decides just to go Wizard.

A similar idea I'd throw out there is something like being able to use Magic Scrolls to recharge your magic. Something like a DC 15 + Spell Level + Caster Level check (So it's reasonably hard but not impossible), if you succeed you can add the spell to your prepared/useable spells per day without expending the scroll. Otherwise you can add it but you use up the scroll.