PDA

View Full Version : Necro Help

kimfu
2013-02-04, 07:43 AM
I'm trying to build a Necromancer, one that can have very powerful minions who compete with other party members.

I'd like it to be a Mind Flayer (as from the MM 3.5) but i don't know the important things about necromancy (My first campaign was played using PHB1 only).

I've heard of Dread Necromancers, but i don't know if they specialize in powerful undeads or not, also true necromancers, and many other necromancers, but I've yet to read some books, including Libris Mortis, Hanbook Necromancer, and some other ones.

Also, is the necromancer charisma based? or intelligence based?
I've read some necromancers can wear armor, and others can't.
Also, the diference between Metamagics and Divine Metamagics for a necromancer? can they use both?
If they rebuke undead, did the class come from clerics? even tho they count as arcane caster? I get confused with some things i read, i'm new to d&d (only played one campaign with PHB1 only) so i don't really get most of the terms used in forums or guides :smalleek:

Any hints, or help is welcomed. Also book recommendations. Thanks :smallbiggrin:.

Codyage
2013-02-04, 07:50 AM
Hmm well there are quite a bit of ways you can go about this.

Clerics can rebuke undead (Take control of them) They also get access to spells to raise the bodies of slain creatures, or what not to control them as undead.

Wizards and Sorcerers have the Necromancy schools so they can raise undead.

Dread Necromancers are on the road to become undead. Slowly of the course of their career becoming more undead. (They can be healed by negative energy, get auras for fear, control undead.) They become Liches at level 20 as an ability of the class.

Necropolitans are undead creatures that can be played as well.

So first question. Do you want to be undead yourself? Or just control the undead?

Norin
2013-02-04, 08:00 AM